HOD                            : Dr. P.K. Singh
Office phone             : 01672-253123, 01672-253124


The aim of the department is to advance knowledge and educate students in the area of mechanical engineering that will meet the need of Industry & academics and best serve the nation and the world in the 21st century.


To create technical manpower through flexible, modular, multi-point entry programmes in mechanical engineering.
To offer quality education and training in the thrust areas .
To promote entrepreneurial skills for self employment.
To provide extension services to industry, working population, pass out students, social organizations.
To promote industry-institute linkage.

Mechanical Engineering Department is the largest department of the Institute and is accredited by National Board of Accreditation (NBA). The department is broadly divided into the following academic groups:

Manufacturing & Industrial Engg.
Welding Technology
Thermal Engg.
The Department of Mechanical Engineering offers two Bachelor of Technology programmes and one Master of Technology programme. Ph.D. programme is available for Doctoral degree. Five certificate and four diploma courses are also being offered covering major areas of mechanical engineering to produce skilled manpower for shop floor in industry. Four non formal courses under the scheme of community development plan are also running in the department.

At present, there are 33 highly motivate faculty members in the department, who besides their regular activities of teaching, do research and interact with industries for training and consultancy work. Faculty is actively involved in different sponsored projects funded by DST, MHRD etc. Financial assistance is also being received to carry out Rural Development Activities. Patents are also to the credit of the faculty of the department.

The department has formed SLIET Mechanical Engineering Society (SMES) to accelerate academic activities of students and faculty. The SMES is regularly organizing technical activities like seminars, student competitions and Industrial visits at regular intervals for the benefit of the students. Indian Welding Society (IWS), has its local centre in the department. There is an exchange program of students between MIT-SETU of USA and SLIET Longowal for academic and cultural exchange. The department is regularly organizing conferences/symposium and AICTE sponsored STTP courses.